Skip to content

Taylor Necklace

April 13, 2011

Taylor Necklace

I mentioned in my last post that I had figured out how to make chain links using herringbone stitch. Well, here it is! I’m always happy if I can salvage something I’ve made, and I think this is pretty successful. The focus of the necklace is the links, which join together a beaded bead, and three vintage square cabochons.

I purchased the cabochons at both at a local bead show. The owner of the both brough the contents of her bead store to sell – she is retired and the bead store gone, but she still has plenty of stock from the 1960s, 70s, and 80s that she still sells at bead shows. She was very nice, and I absolutely loved everything she was selling. I’d estimate from the style of these cabs (which are made of modled plastic and glitter of some kind) that they are circa the late 1960s or the 1970s.

Although I suspect Liz Taylor would have never worn plastic with her collection of diamonds available to her, I’ve decided to name this piece after her because I was working on it when she passed away. She’s an icon to any jewellery lover, and the colouration of this piece – gold and turquoise – brought to mind her film Cleopatra.

By the way, if you are independently wealthy, you can bid on Elizabeth Taylor’s jewels at the upcoming Christie’s auction.

And another by the way, I will be posting a new tutorial for sale later this week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 10:52 am

    Wonderful design and tribute. Your blog offerings are vry generous in design and color!

    • Casey permalink*
      April 14, 2011 12:47 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoy my work 🙂

  2. April 28, 2011 12:08 am

    nice!!!

Leave a Reply

