Skip to content

Mucha Dragonfly Necklace

March 20, 2011

Mucha Butterfly Necklace

It’s been a while since I’ve had anything to post. Lately, I haven’t had the time or energy to make anything. The main reason for this is being busy with work. Since I work at a computer all day, my arms and neck often ache —  beading just doesn’t help. My contract at work is ending,  so maybe I will bead more to get through my job search. I’m considering starting my own business though, so maybe I will be really busy!

I started this project months ago, on my Christmas vacation. My original idea was to make beaded chain links. It was a terribly slow process, and they competed too much with the pendant.  I finally gave up on that idea after putting the project away for three whole months. I’m not into gaudy baubles — I much prefer this simple strung necklace. You can see the basic look I was trying to achieve with the chains in the two bails on the pendant. I saved the chain links, however, so you can look forward to seeing a bracelet made with them later on. I like to salvage things, if I can.

The pendant is made from a reproduction Victorian glass button I bought at Vancouver’s Button Button. I used the same technique used for the La Ghirlandata Necklace to capture the button. The combination of muted pastels and amber, as well as the dragonfly motif, reminds me Art Nouveau. The bezel itself reminds me of  Alphonse Mucha because he was known for framing his bohemian beauties with elaborate halo backgrounds, as typified in his painting Dance from the Arts Series.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clare permalink
    June 3, 2012 8:42 am

    Hello,
    I’m the owner of an online beads store. I am currently trying to market my store by posting guest posts on crafting blogs. Would you be interested in taking a guest post about beads for me?
    I am willing to pay for a guest post sponsor if that’s necessary.
    Many thanks and hope to hear from you soon.
    Clare

Leave a Reply

