Skip to content

La Ghirlandata Necklace

December 5, 2010

La Ghirlandata Necklace

I love green beads because they are so lush, green itself being a colour of so many variations. I adore these green seed beads because they are lined with copper, making it a perfect match for a reproduction czech glass button I bought at Button Button in Vancouver a few months ago.

The end effect, to me, is reminiscent of a green garland. The name I’ve chosen is from Dante Gabriel Rossetti’s painting,  ”La Ghirlandata”, or ‘The Garlanded,” refering to the model in the painting, who is surrounded by flowered garlands. Rossetti is one of my favorite artists, and I was pleased to find out that Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber has a version of the painting in his collection. I can certainly see that Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber has a taste for oppulence, and if I hadn’t used up my Christmas wishlist, I’d certainly be requesting the book, Pre-Raphaelite and Other Masters: The Andrew Lloyd Webber Collection.

Leave a Reply

