Skip to content

Ernestina Faux Opal Bracelet

August 14, 2010

Ernestina Faux Opal Bracelet

I am extremely drawn to opal. Perhaps due to the depth and intrigue of the stone’s iridescence; perhaps also because they are said to be bad luck. To me, the idea of bad luck is romantic and challenging, so I’ve always enjoyed wearing everything from pink to black opals.

If, however, you’d rather not tempt the fates, these faux opals are an option. I made these opals out of translucent polymer clay and glitter. I’m very happy with the effect, which I think resembles a milky green opal.

I’ve named this bracelet after Ernestina, Charles’s young and slightly spoiled fiance in the French Lieutenant’s Woman. John Fowles is my favorite author, and the French Lieutenant’s Woman is my favorite novel. I feel that Ernestina, a conventionally pretty and stylish young Victorian woman, would appreciate this bracelet. Although not as obviously tragic as the book’s title character, I feel Ernestina is unlucky in her own way, making opals feel appropriate for her.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    August 19, 2010 1:28 pm

    Dang! That’s gorgeous. (Casey, I now subscribe to your feed, so you may need to get used to random comments from me.). I like the ‘stone’ you made in your most recent post, blue pendAnt, with gold glazy work on it — thAt turned out very nicely!!

  2. Casey permalink*
    August 20, 2010 9:57 am

    That’s great Tammy, thanks for subscribing! I’m happy with the stone too, I had to try making different ‘stones’ for a long time before I made anything I wanted to share.

Trackbacks

  1. Victoria Faux Opal Bracelet and Ring « Cassandra Elizabeth Beads' Blog

Leave a Reply

