Skip to content

“Cities in Dust” Roman-Style Necklace

April 3, 2010

Cities in Dust Necklace

I recently celebrated my birthday, which means that I both bought and received many stones and beads. The cabochon I used for this necklace is actually an amethyst worry stone given to me by my co-worker Fiona.  The Swarovski briolette was given to me by my co-worker Marrianne, who is Austrian and bought it on a trip to Vienna. I love that my co-workers thought of me, and that they have such good taste!

With it’s rich-yet-worn colour pallet of amber, amethyst and ruby, this piece speaks to me of Ancient Rome, particularly the Fayum Mummy Portraits used in Roman Egypt to depict the deceased.  To me, this necklace appears as if it’s been buried under volcanic  ash for several centuries waiting to be discovered by an archaeologist. Because of these thoughts, I’ve named this necklace after the Siouxsie & The Banshees song of “Cities in Dust.” In “Cities in Dust,” Siouxie sings about the the destruction of the Ancient Roman cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum by the eruption of Mount Vesuvius. The inhabitants of Pompeii and Herculaneum were buried in volcanic ash, preserving their last moments forever.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

