Skip to content

Beadwoven Barbie Necklaces

March 6, 2010
tags:

I’ve been thinking about making beadwoven jewellery for Barbie for a while now. When my sister brought home these Barbie Basics dolls, I knew I had some models to display my work on. Here are four designs I created recently.

Indian Wedding

In the west, we generally think of white when we think of weddings. In Asian countries, such as India and China, brides traditionally wear red to bring happiness and luck to the marriage. This piece is inspired by the ornate red jewellery worn by Indian brides.

Cleo

This was the first jewellery design I created  for Barbie. I used right angle weave to create a traditional Egyptian collar. Peacock blue Czech cut beads take on the look of large blue jewels thanks to scale.

Nightclubbing

My muse for this piece was the artistic, unconventional and fascinating Grace Jones. If anyone could get away with wearing a this it’s Grace Jones, or her 11 inch tall red headed friend here.

Liz

Barbie can get away with wearing anything, even diamonds that would require 7 body guards in real life. The only other person who could carry this look off would be gem connoisseur, Liz Taylor. Even curses can’t keep Liz away from diamonds.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mfm999 permalink
    March 7, 2010 7:04 am

    What great photos of Ms. Barbie; I really like the shadows and light. She wears your designs better than Grace Jones would! I also like that line about curses and Liz! Best, M

    • Casey permalink*
      March 9, 2010 4:41 pm

      Thanks! I took the photos at 2pm in natural light. That seems to be the best time to get some real mood lighting. Barbie’s been listenig to Tyra anyway .

Trackbacks

  1. Cassandra Elizabeth Barbie Jewelry Featured on the Beading Gem « Cassandra Elizabeth Beads' Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

