Skip to content

Queen of the Night Moonstone Necklace

November 29, 2009

Queen of the Night Moonstone Necklace

Queen of the Night Moonstone Necklace

This necklace was inspired by a trip to a local spiritual bookstore, which my mom noticed sold polished stones and crystals. I selected a bunch of stones which had sides that were flat enough to glue to leather. The shop owner was very curious about what I was going to make with the stones and asked me to bring what I made by later and even gave me some broken stones. I will definitely stop by when I make some more stuff!

The centre piece is moonstone, which I captured by strapping it to a piece of leather with seed beads. The straps are  St. Petersburg chain stitch made with bronze Czech hex-cut beads, gold cubes and mauve luster beads.

This piece is named for the “Queen of the Night” relief from Ancient Babylon, which depicts a goddess of the underworld, perhaps Ishtar, Ereshkigal, or Lilith. I selected this name because I’m always drawn to strong female figures, and the piece has a dark, alluring edge that reminds me of Mesopotamian treasure.

PS – I’m excited to announce that Alexandrian Pearls was featured on this week’s showcase at Beader’s Showcase, which is very cool seeing as I’ve only been on the site a couple months!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

