Skip to content

Art Nouveau Bracelet

August 22, 2009

Art Nouveau Bracelet

As promised, here is the bracelet featured in the header image. I’m finished writing and illustrating the tutorial for it, which you can find on the tutorials tab.

My idea for this bracelet came from a practical place. Being a magpie, I bought way too many Czech cut beads when I first got into beading. As you probably know, Czech faceted or cut beads tend to cut threads if used improperly. My solution is to use the technique often used for Czech bugles: pad the ends with seed beads. I went for charlottes, because they add even more glitter.

I also used 6 mm glass pearls, which are bigger than my usual pearls of choice, to play with scale and achieve a curvy, organic feel. Finally, I put it all together using chandelier earring findings. I had a bunch of chandeliers from a kit I bought when I first started stringing. Long, big earrings aren’t really my style, so I was happy to find a use for them. Overall, this is bracelet is all about using up the stash!

The name is inspired by the lush, organic feel of the bracelet, which is really reminiscent of the Art Nouveau style, especially Mucha, the quintessential artist of the day.  I even staged the photo with my Mucha box, given to me by a family friend. I’ve always loved Mucha, partly because I’m part-Czech myself. That’s also where I get some of my obsession with Czech beads.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2009 4:27 am

    Welcome to my blog (http://lianginbead.spaces.live.com/) to see my new works of beads.
    Liang-In Liu from Taiwan

Leave a Reply

