Skip to content

Boadicea’s Shield Brick Stitch Pendant and Earrings

August 7, 2009

Boadicea’s Shield Brick Stitch Pendant

Boadicea’s Shield Brick Stitch Pendant and Earrings

I’m completely in love with a book I found in my local library.  7000 Years of Jewelry: An International History and Illustrated Survey from the Collections of the British Museum is an incredible look at the wide range of jewelry housed in the British Museum. It’s a great resource for jewelry designers because of the range of eras and cultures it covers.

The above set was inspired by the Celtic, Germanic and late Roman jewelry in the book. I love the use of circular motifs, gold and garnet inlays. I was inspired to work circular square stitch around an amethyst bead using gold seed beads and red faceted Czech beads. I think the regality and strength of this style is fit for a warrior queen like Boadicea.

7000 Years of Jewelry: An International History and Illustrated Survey from the Collections of the British Museum

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 10:21 am

    Would love to see this set in a PDF if possible.

    Denise

    • Casey permalink*
      September 28, 2009 2:14 pm

      Denise, thanks for the feedback, I had been considering making a PDF of this design. Since you’re interested, I’ll put it high on my to-do list. It could take a while, but I can email you when it’s up.

      Casey

  2. September 28, 2009 2:48 pm

    That would be great Casey. I can imagine you are very busy when ever it is finished and ready to go please do e mail me . I love the items you have up i will look forward to more PDF’s on your blog.

    Best Wishes,
    Denise

Leave a Reply

