Skip to content

Cupcake Bead Box

July 26, 2009

Cupcake Beaded Box

Why is it cupcakes are so much better than regular old cake? Everything is cute in miniature.

It was my mom’s idea to make a cupcake box. Although the lid turned out quite well on my first attempt, the bottom is another story. The first attempt looked like a Dairy Queen cone, so I had to scrap it. On the second and third attempt, I tried to to make a cupcake paper using herringbone stitch. It looked adorable…but it was too floppy to hold up the lid.

If you haven’t made a beaded box before, the process is fun, if a bit hard on your hands. Keeping the tension tight on the thread is a killer!

Although it took me forever to finally get my box to work, it was still worthwhile because I learned how to make round, flat herringbone stitch without any instructions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 9:00 am

    So cute! I love it!

  2. mfm999 permalink
    January 11, 2010 7:54 am

    How unique! It looks so edible!

Leave a Reply

