Skip to content

Rio Ruffles Memory Wire Bangle

May 21, 2009

Rio Ruffles Memory Wire Bangle

This is another piece inspired by the April/May 2009 issue of Beadwork. I loved the idea of mixing cute peyote ruffles with funky lampwork beads, as featured the preview from Create Jewelry: Glass.

I actually went out and bought 2 grab bags of cool lampwork beads from my local bead shop. I like these beads because I remember buying very similar ones as a kid in the 1990s when my grandma would take us to Washington State.

To get a bit more bang out of my work, I strung the beads, ruffles and spacer sections on memory wire. I was inspired by the Carmen Miranda photo shoot they did on America’s Next Top Model, especially Allison’s photo, as shown below. It’s probably a bit easier to wear a bangle than it is to wear fruit on your head.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie McCarthy permalink
    May 26, 2009 2:14 am

    “Baby Jane´s in Acapulco – we are flyin´ down to Rioooooo!”

    I love this one and thanks for posting the picture of Allison – I will have to draw that one day.

  2. Kokopelli permalink
    June 28, 2009 7:46 am

    This one's colorful! Like a day on the beach in Rio!

Leave a Reply

