Skip to content

Pink and Brown Victorian Princess Necklace

May 2, 2009

Pink and Brown Victorian Princess Necklace

When I saw these pink sodalite cabochons, I needed to have them! They’re very pretty and quite unusual. One variation of pink sodalite changes from pink to white when exposed to the light for too long (you can bring back the pink by leaving it in the dark for a while), but I haven’t noticed any change in these stones. This site has some fun information on sodalite.

Sodalite is generally a royal blue colour, but these stones are pink with brown veins. I used light pink and brown lustre seed beads to match the stones. I made some lattice weave flowers to attach the cabochons in a v-formation. The necklace is princess length, so it drapes nicely aroung the neck. I think it would look at home on a Victorian lady.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Scattie permalink
    May 2, 2009 10:15 pm

    That is beautiful!

  2. The Bead Doodler permalink
    May 6, 2009 2:53 am

    That is beautiful. I haven’t seen pink sodalite before and it’s been a very long time since I’ve seen pink and brown combination.

  3. Casey M permalink
    May 7, 2009 2:32 am

    Thanks Scattie and Bead Doodler 🙂

    I hadn’t seen pink sodalite before I bought these either, I think they’re supposed to be somewhat rare. Maybe pink and brown will make a come back 😉

Leave a Reply

