Skip to content

Hopi Inspired Circular Square Stitch Bracelet

March 22, 2009

Hopi Inspired Circular Square Stitch Bracelet
I’ve been wearing this bracelet for a couple weeks, but didn’t have a chance to take a photo until now. I like this bracelet because it has a south western feel, I was inspired by the desert colours and stong graphic elements used in Hopi art.

I started making a circular stitch ring from Beadwork Magazine, but decided typing all day at work and rings didn’t mix. Instead, I made three of them to make a bracelet.

I was going to finish off the bracelet with a couple strips of three- and one-drop peyote stitch, but accidentally made them too short. To lengthen it out, I made two lattice weave circles to mimic the circular square stitch elements. The closure is a bigger lattice weave circle and a peyote stitch beaded bead with two bicones on either ends.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Eveline permalink
    March 22, 2009 10:05 pm

    It´s so beautiful!

  2. LADY ROOTS permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:08 pm

    Sistren Casey,

    How serendipitous that I see your post of a southwestern piece the same day I post a southwestern piece that I completed the day your post appeared!

    Your bracelet is lovely.

    You can see mine here.

    Bless Up,
    Lady Roots

  3. Casey M permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:15 am

    Eveline: Thanks, glad you like it!! 🙂

    Lady Roots, that’s a coincidence! I think beadwork and southwestern colour schemes are a good match because beadwork is so important to Native American culture!

    Thanks to both of you for the encouragement 🙂

  4. Kokopelli permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:16 pm

    Yeah, you can’t deny the importance of beadwork in Native American culture. I like that bracelet! Looks to me like one of those concha belts although not in silver. Great work!

Leave a Reply

