Skip to content

Beaded Byzantine Chain Maille and Tiger’s Eye Cabochon Necklace

February 9, 2009

Beaded Byzantine Chain Maille and Tiger’s Eye Cabochon Necklace

I always wanted to try out Byzantine chain maille, but I’m just not great with jump rings or wire. I always end up having them open up! Here’s a solution…beaded byzantine chain maille!

I learned this technique from Bead and Button and complimented it twisted tubular herringbone rope and a cabochon.

My favorite part is probably the tiger’s eye cabochon and how it brings out the richness of the matte bronze and shiny brown seed beads.

As an interesting note, Tiger’s Eye is supposed to bring clear thinking, insight and confidence. I’ll believe that, because I need some insight right now…maybe even some psychic powers?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kokopelli permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:42 am

    How cool is that! I only made it t a “real” chain maille byzantine bracelet. Nice work!

  2. Kokopelli permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:42 am

    How cool is that! I only made it t a “real” chain maille byzantine bracelet. Nice work!

  3. Casey M permalink
    March 1, 2009 8:41 pm

    Thanks! I love byzantine, I saw your chain maille, it’s beautiful!

  4. Betty BeadBug permalink
    March 31, 2009 9:39 pm

    I love the tiger’s eye in this piece too…brings everything else out.

  5. tammy permalink
    August 26, 2009 12:25 pm

    this is beautiful. the ‘enclosure’ around the tiger’s eye is that extra something that makes this piece really stand out.

Leave a Reply

